Posted by: Jess | March 25, 2011

Sweet Sixteen!

Tomorrow is my SWEET SIXTEEN!! I’m PRETTY DARN excited!!

I just finished eating THE MOST delicious dinner.

Cabbage+Pork Chop+Butternut Squash fries+Sweet Potato fries+Ketchup!! I DIDN’T want this to EVER end! Open-mouthed smile

DSC_0437DSC_0442DSC_0444DSC_0448DSC_0450DSC_0451

I’ve been trying LOTS of exciting things on the foodie front!!

Including butternut squash fries, purple sweet potato fries, and chocolate protein pancakes. I’ve actually had butternut squash fries and a purple sweet potato before, but it had been a LONGGG time.

As far as the chocolate protein pancakes recipe goes…

I made mine based on THIS awesome recipe!!
  • 1/8 cup Biochem 100% Whey Protein Powder (Chocolate Fudge)
  • 1 tablespoon whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax seed
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • several shakes of cinnamon
  • 2 packets of stevia
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup skim milk

SO. INSANELY. GOOD. I will definitely make these again. I topped mine with a peanut butter flour drizzle, served with an egg scrambled with a variety of veggies. DSC_0402DSC_0403DSC_0404DSC_0405DSC_0406DSC_0407DSC_0408DSC_0409DSC_0410DSC_0411DSC_0412

I also tried Katie’s VOLUMINOUS oatmeal trick!! The night before I combined 1/3 cup oats+1.5 cups of water. I microwaved it for four minutes, then let it sit in the microwave for another five. I then placed it in the fridge overnight.

In the morning I added:

  • 1/2 container of vanilla chobani
  • peanut flour paste (1/4 cup peanut flour+a little less than the same amount of water+stevia)
  • blueberries

Really filling!!

DSC_0416DSC_0419DSC_0420DSC_0423

I arrived at school today to find a LOVELY present from one of my classmates—LOVE her!!

Does she know me or what?!

WHOLE FOODS GOODIES

<3

DSC_0453DSC_0454DSC_0456DSC_0458DSC_0459DSC_0461DSC_0463

More food photos!!

DSC_0426DSC_0428DSC_0430DSC_0432DSC_0433DSC_0435DSC_0108 (2)DSC_0110 (2)DSC_0111 (2)DSC_0112 (2)DSC_0113 (2)

Currently watching UNC DOMINATE Marquette. I hope they continue to do so in the second half!!

As I mentioned, tomorrow is my BIRTHDAYYYY!! I also get my license (if I pass!!) on MONDAY. Where has the time gone?!

Have a LOVELY Friday night everyone!!

<3 jess

xoxo

Responses

  1. Wishing you an early happy birthday! :)

  2. omg Sweet Sixteen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Happy Birthday Jess!!!!!!!!! So exciting! I remember when i was turning 16, how excited I was too! Good luck on the test tomorrow! Dont stress if you don’t pass, you can always take it again, but I have a feeling you will!!

    Happy Birthday love! I hope its wonderful, that is what you deserve!!!!!! xoxo <3

  3. I really must find a purple sweet potato! I’ve never even SEEN one in person before!

    HAPPY (early) SWEET 16!!!!!!!!! It’s an epic age. :D You will do fabulous on the driver’s test. The one thing I still remember that caught so many of my friends (but not me!) was checking my right rear when turning to my right in case any “bikers/pedistrians” have crept up behind you. It seems crazy when you think about it (wouldn’t you SEE said biker when you were approaching the stop sign/light?), but it knocks off points if you don’t! Anyways, I know you’ll do fantastic, so try not to stress over it, and I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  4. Woohoo happy sweet 16! Glad you had such a fabulous day! :)

  5. Ohmygosh! Happy (early) Sweet Sixteen! Hope you have an amazing birthday girlie! :-D

  6. So many yummy photos! Happy sweet 16! : )

    Love your blog!

  7. I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Delicious Coffee Rolls

  8. oh happy sweet 16! You are so wise for you age. Keep that spirit!!

  9. I had to comment again today, because today is YOUR SWEET 16 BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!

    Happy Birthday Jess!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am wishing you lots of luck on your test!!! Please let me know how it goes !!!

    happy birthday!!!! xoxooxoxo <3

  10. ahhh have a great birthday!!!

  11. happy birthday love!!!!!!!!!

    Happy Saturday :)
    Becca

    http://fromheretothereinpurple.blogspot.com

    http://twitter.com/rlustig

  12. Happy Birthday! Good luck on your road test! Make sure you make complete stops and even look both ways before at green lights! That’s all I got, haha. :)

    Whitney

  13. aww happy belated birthday! sonds like you had a good one :) :)

  14. Happy belated birthday!!! I hope it was a great one Oh…to be 16 again! :)

    Your breakfast sounds SO FILLING! Sometimes I tell my clients about the foods I eat and they laugh (sweet potato in oats, or spinach in smoothies, as examples) I can’t imagine what they’d say if I told them to cook, then refrigerate, then add PB paste! haha

  15. sweet 16!! happy birthday girl :) hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    I love the voluminous oatmeal trick! and butternut squash fries have recently taken over my LIFE!

  16. I hope you had a wonderful Sweet 16!! Happy Belated Birthday!!

  17. Happy Birthday to you!! YAY! Sweet sixteen :) All of your food looks so delish and I’m jealous of your WF goodies!!

  18. Ahh! Happy sweet 16!! Hope it was wonderful!

  19. Happy birthday Jess… May god fulfill all ur dreams!!!

  20. HAPPYYYYYY BIRTHDAY MY BEAUTIFUL FRIEND! May God bless this year sooo much, you deserve it, keep shining!

  21. Happy Birthday girl!!! Yay sweet 16, hope you pass your license test. I’m loving that Maranatha dark chocolate peanut spread, mmm!

  22. […] chocolate protein pancake + peanut flour paste drizzle + blueberries […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

