Posted by: Jess | June 14, 2011

Mish-Mash

Hey all! Long time no speak Winking smile I have a MISH-MASH of a post, so here we go…

I started a BRAND NEW workout plan that I adapted from some magazines while reading at the book store. I started it on Monday and so far, I LOVE it!!

Monday: Glutes/Quads + Abs

Tuesday: Shoulders/Back + Cardio

Wednesday: Hamstring/Calves + Abs

Thursday: Chest/Biceps/Triceps + Cardio

Friday: OFF or Spin/Cardio + Yoga/Pilates/Abs

Saturday: Hamstring/Quads + Abs

Sunday: Yoga/Pilates + Cardio

I typed up my workouts, and then printed/folded them for easy access at the gym.

100_4450100_4452100_4453100_4474100_4476

I also purchased some workout gloves & a new pair of Reebok shorts from a sporting goods store…tried them both today! Helped with the hand pain from lifting + better grip!!

100_4488100_4490100_4492

Been LOVING Oxygen magazine lately…and Vitamin water zero. “Rise” tastes like ORANGE JUICE. Yum!

100_4413100_4414

In other exciting news……

MY PACKAGE CAME!!

100_4454100_4455100_4457100_4458100_4459100_4460100_4461

CANNOT WAIT to make some cinnamon toffee almond butter and some coconut butter!

I took the boy to TRADER JOE’S for his FIRST TJ’s experience. I think he really liked it…he bought some chocolate covered pretzels and couldn’t stop eating them Winking smile 

I bought some goodies…

100_4496100_4498100_4500

BIG NEWS!!

I have officially cut out DIET SODA from my life. I WISH I could have a couple a week, but it becomes an addiction wayyyy too fast for me. I’ve had days where I drank 2-3. NOT okay. I haven’t had ANY in nine days and, instead, have been drinking 8-10 glasses of water per day. Open-mouthed smile 

The boy also tried a sweet potato (cooked in the microwave, NOTHIN’ fancy) and he REALLY liked it. He said he’s going to start eating them…SUCCESS!!

DSC_0457

Speaking of food…

100_4464100_4467100_4468100_4469100_4471

vanilla Chobani Greek yogurt + Kashi GOLEAN + cherries/peaches/strawberries/blueberries + cinnamon

100_4478100_4480100_4481100_4484

mushrooms + hummus + turkey slices + broccoli + watermelon + cherries(x2)

100_4449

ugliest picture of fruit ever blackberries/blueberries/green grapes/red grapes/cantaloupe/watermelon/cherries/strawberries/green apple…fruit is OVERFLOWING in our refrigerator lately. and I love it.

100_4431100_4433

mango!!!!

100_4428100_4429100_4430

leftover salad + veggies + chicken + salsa/hummus

100_4417100_4419100_4422100_4423100_4427

sweet potato + mushrooms + tomato + chicken salad + broccoli

100_4407100_4408100_4411

sweet potato + green pepper + mushrooms + chicken

100_4391100_4393100_4394100_4397100_4398100_4399100_4400100_4402

2 egg whites + 1 egg scrambled with mushrooms & vanilla Chobani Greek yogurt with strawberries + cherries

I think I’ll leave you with some recent PURCHASES…

100_4436100_4438100_4440100_4441

That purse…SEVENTEEN dollars at TJ MAXX!!

These bowls were also purchased at TJ Maxx…

100_4464

Have a FANTASTIC rest of the week, everyone!! I’ll be sharing more details of my new workouts later Smile 

Thanks for hanging in with me for such an ALL OVER THE PLACE post!!

<3 jess

xoxo

Responses

  1. that’s awesome that you cut out diet drinks… takes a lot of discipline to do that! YOU GO GIRL! Hey, how do you make your chicken salad? what your recipe ? :)

  2. ohmy lady, i love that vitamin zero rise flavor! i chugged a glass on my way home from the post office (where i picked up my oxygen mag!) i love it when bloggie worlds collide! yeah for the new workout plan – be sure to include a rest day!
    glad to see your pretty posts! missed ya!

  3. Nice split!! I recently replaced diet soda with herbal tea (too expensive to buy a pack or two a week! I am a broke butt student and hubs is going back to school after me) — it’s nice to break up the monotony of water every once in a while :D

  4. YAY for cutting out diet soda!! that stuff is lethal! i cut my workouts out like that too! :)

  5. Congrats on cutting out the sodas!!! It’s never easy to change our habits, but often times we have so much to gain from it.

    Sounds like you’re spoiling your boy… TJ’s AND sweet potatoes? ;) He definitely sounds like a keeper!

  6. yay! awesome package! And man, you are making me want to like sweet potatoes more :P Those reebok shorts look really cute too….they remind me of the “the north face” shorts my mom has that i am jealous of! Also totally jealous of your watermelon and cherry eats :)

  7. Love the new routine and all of your eats look nomtastic! I’m telling you, our tastebuds were separated at birth! You’re gonna love those weight lifting gloves, I have the same type and I’ve never had any blisters :) Congrats on cutting soda too, way to go!!!

  8. congrats on cutting out the soda! I haven’t had soda in a year now I don’t even like the taste. don’t get me wrong I wouldn’t deny myself of a root beer at my favorite restaurant though! Your eats look amazing and of course I’m loving the sweet tater :) always a good choice

  9. Looks like you’ve been having a busy week!

    I love the sweet potatoes in this post, as well as you amazing package full of goodies.

    Diet soda and I have a love/hate relationship. I think it was only after realising what Diet Coke in particular can do in terms of thinning your bones that I finally kicked the habit entirely, although I do have one occasionally as a treat. And post-race, I love my Powerade Zero, but I’m not sure if that counts as a true ‘diet’ drink as it’s meant to aid recovery after a run/during a run.

    xxx

  10. Congrats on the diet soda, woot woot! That’s a really good habit to kick. I bet you feel a lot better! & I love you and your sweet potato-ness! You crack me up.

    Whitney

  11. I can’t wait to see what your new routine entails. I need some new lifting in my life.

  12. workouts look AMAZING girl! i love how you typed them all and printed them out; you’re so organized! :’)
    and yaaaaay for getting your boy to try (and love!) a sweet potato! now THAT man’s a keeper ;) someday you’ll have to get him to make one for you! how cool would that be?!

    eats look delish; i love the massive amount of fresh FRUIT! yaaaay for summer, huh?!

  13. totally a pro with those gloves. LOVE it!

  14. good for you for cutting out diet soda! I am trying the same thing, because I am totally like you and am ADDICTED to it. I cut down to about 1 or 2 a week, baby steps…right?!

    I wish I could get my boyfriend to eat the kind of foods that I like, but he is totally anit-health food. sometimes I just have to sneak food that I like into our meals…like one time I told him couscous was just brown rice and he ate it! haha.

  15. Love the new routine and the all over post… it makes me feel less crazy! ahahah

  16. All your eats look so tasty! And that bag is adorable!!
    I just came across your blog and can’t wait to read more :)

  17. Youre so organized with your workouts!! I’m impressed. I’m more of a “What am I Feeling” today kind of girl. But that doesn’t always result in the best workout, haha.

    So many delicious treats! I’ve seen those banana chips at TJ’s but I’ve never tried them!

  18. yay for no more pop & banana chips are my fav!

  19. I love that purse and shorts! I ordered sports shorts from my club and they’re supposed to be similar, at least I hope they are, since I haven’t seen them yet.
    Mushroom chicken combination looked to me at the first sight like chocolate chip pancake ;) Not that I like pancakes…um well, I do :D
    Have a great weekend!

  20. All of your food looks so delicious! Yay for bringing the boy to Trader Joe’s for the first time. It truly is an EXPERIENCE shopping there. There are a bunch of TJ’s near my parent’s house, but I’ll be sad when I go back to school in the Fall and have none :(

    TJ Maxx is another fave of mine and your purse is absolutely adorable!

  21. SO many good things in this post! First off, I love love love how organized you are with your workouts. It makes things much easier, right?! And that is my fav vit water flavor…so good. Sometimes those 0 cal drinks can taste really artificial to me but that one I really like!
    And I am oh so happy (and jealous) that you went to TJs!!! Is it not Heaven on Earth?! I would do just about anything to have one near me. ;)

    Okay, have a good weekend girlie!! xoxo

  22. Good job cutting out the diet soda! Yay for water!

    Love sweet potatoes! Mmmm!

    Cute bowl!

  23. Nine days and still going strong?! Congrats! I’m still working on cutting down my caffeine. I’m stuck at about 350 mg, which isn’t too much, but I want to get to 200mg! :) It’s tough, isn’t it?!

    Your eats look great, as usual! The Nutty Guys is new to me, I’ll have to check out their website.

  24. I love printing off workouts too like that. It’s so easy to keep up with at the gym. I love being able to go in with a plan and focus on working hard.

  25. I usually stick to womens health magazine..now I feel I should give oxygen a chance…great mishmash

  26. I love that you typed up your workouts! I should do that, I bet I would get more accomplished. :)
    Way to cut out diet soda! And cinnamon toffee almond butter sounds amazing. and coconut butter is the best, of course!

  27. I love your sweet potatoes ;)

    Jess – you are such a sweetheart and good soul – thank you so much for still commenting on my site. Your faith in me – when I have none – is amazing…

    And your workout plans are SO inspirational! I never do weights or anything different.

  28. love the workout cards! so organised! all your pictures are great! and YAY for giving diet soda the chop! woop woop!!

  29. So nice to cut out diet soda!! I stopped drinking soda altogether a few years back and it’s really great!

  30. Ooo such cute shorts! And I totally admire you for cutting out diet soda, not sure I could ever do that. Hope you had a nice weekend:)

  31. Wow, I love how you organized your workout- I need to do that! :)

  32. Nice lifting schedule! What a good idea to type everything up for easy access :)

  33. That work out looks amazing! Such discipline– you go girl! :)

  34. Great job cutting out diet soda! When I did that I felt SO much better.

    Can’t wait to hear more about your new workout plan. Looks great :)

  35. So much delicious food in this post! Congrats on giving up the diet soda, girl! That’s great!

  36. Girlfriend I need to join you on that diet soda bandwagon… my consumption is becoming a serious problem. And not one I want to fund when I’m paying for my own food starting in July! gahhh. I’m thinking I”ll stop when I go on vacation and just quit right there. I hear you on not being able to do moderation… I would love to be able to just have one a couple times a week but that inevitably turns into zillion per day!

    That workout regime looks intense, dont’ forget to rest love! :) <3
    n

  37. Yay for introducing your boy to new goodies!

    I used to drink diet coke a LOT, but I cut it out a while ago. It doesn’t take too long to quit missing it :) I would much rather have some tea / coffee / water any day!

  38. [...] hooked. I have never sweat so much in my life (except for hot yoga!). I’m so glad I ditched my “workout schedule” and went for [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

