Posted by: Jess | May 29, 2011

Getting stronger IS possible!!

Hey girls! I wanted to share some (not all) of my weight training increases

Strength training is SO fun because you are CONSTANTLY growing and pushing yourself in the weight room Open-mouthed smile

  • Abs
    • 1 minute side plank/side, 1 minute plank –> 1 minute side plank per side, 2 minute plank, 1 minute side plank, 1 minute plank, 1 minute other side plank, 1 minute final plank 
    • 60, 45, 30, 15 Russian twists (4 sets) –> 2 sets with a 10 lb. medicine ball of 60, 50
    • 4 sets of 15 twisting reverse crunches
    • 4 sets of 20 toe touches
    • 4 sets of 30 bicycles
    • 4 sets of 20 captain’s chair (straight legs) –> can now do 5 sets of 20
    • Abdominal Crunch Machine (free motion) 4 sets of 15 (30 lb, 30 lb, 35 lb, 35 lb) –> 2 sets of 30 (70 lbs.)
    • Torso Rotation: 1 set of 15 per side (30 lbs) –> 1 set of 16 per side (40 lbs.)
    • 2 minute plank –> 2 x 2 minute planks
  • Legs
    • Hamstring: 3 sets of 10 (85, 85, 90 lbs.) –> 2 sets of 10 (100 lbs.)
    • Leg Curl: 3 sets of 10 (50, 55, 60 lbs.) –> 2 sets of 8-10 (70 lbs.)
    • Hip Adduction: 5 sets of 10 (190, 180, 170, 160, 150 lbs) –> 4 sets of 10 (210 lbs.)
    • Hip Abduction: 5 sets of 10 (190, 180, 170, 160, 150 lbs) –> 4 sets of 10 (210 lbs.)
    • Seated Calves: 3 sets of 15 (215 lbs) –> 2 sets of 25 (230 lbs.)
    • Standing Calf: 2 sets of 10 (70 lbs.) –> 2 sets of 10 (170 lbs.)
    • Leg Press: 2 sets of 10 (per side) (70 lbs) –> 2 sets of 10 (per leg, 75-80 lbs.)
    • 2 minute wall squat –> 3 minute wall squat
    • pilates moves
  • Arms
    • Row: 3 sets of 10 (45, 45, 55 lbs) –> 2 sets of 10 (90-100 lbs.)
    • Seated Row: 2 sets of 10 (50 lbs) –> 2 sets of 10 (75 lbs.)
    • Assisted Pulldown: 2 sets of 7,8 (50, 55 lbs) –> 2 sets of 10 (90-95 lbs.)
    • Assisted Chin-up: 2 sets of 7,8 (50, 55 lbs) –> 2 sets of 6 (unassisted)
    • Assisted Tricep Dip: 2 sets of 7, 8 (50, 55 lbs) –> 2 sets of 7 (unassisted)
    • Assisted Lateral Pulldown: 2 sets of 10 (55 lbs) –> 2 sets of 10 (72.5 lbs.)
    • Lat Machine (free motion): 2 sets of 10 (40, 50 lbs) –> 2 sets of 10 (40-45 lbs.)
    • Tricep Pushdown: 2 sets of 8 (30 lbs) –> 3 x 2 sets of 10 (32.5-37.5 lbs.)
    • Fly: 2 sets of 10 (30 lbs) –> 2 sets of 10 (55 lbs.)
    • Tricep Extension: 2 sets of 10 (35, 40 lbs) –> 2 sets of 10 (65 lbs.)
    • Bicep Curl: 2 sets of 10 (30, 35 lbs) –> 2 sets of 10 (55 lbs.)
    • Chest Pullback (not the name, I know!): 2 sets of 10 (40, 45 lbs) –> 2 sets of 10 (72.5 lbs.)

I just want to get the message across that NO ONE should be afraid to strength train just because they aren’t “strong enough!” You WILL make increases. And it is SO satisfying Open-mouthed smile

I’m actually recuperating from a SICKNESS. Took yesterday + today OFF from working out to fully heal.

I HATE taking days off from working out (let’s be HONEST) butttt I KNOW they are necessary and sometimes life gets in the way. I KNOW tomorrow’s workout will KICK-BUTT.

 DSC_0047 (2)DSC_0048DSC_0050

sweet potato + salad w/ spinach, romaine, turkey, green peppers, tomato, chickpeas, and hummus/salsa

DSC_0056DSC_0057 (2)DSC_0059

spaghetti squash + broccoli + chicken

DSC_0061 (2)DSC_0062DSC_0065 (2)DSC_0066 (2)

brown rice + chicken + peas + broccoli + chickpeas

 DSC_0068 (2)DSC_0069DSC_0070

one of the most delicious, juicy mangos EVAAAAA

LOVE YOU ALL!

❤ jess

xoxo

Responses

  1. congrats on the increases girl!!! mine are coming verrrrrrry slowly. Slower than I would like but that’s just how it goes. 🙂 Now that I have more time this Summer to workout, I hate taking rest days, too. My workouts are one of my favorite parts of my day. But I do get run down sometimes and once I take a rest day, I’m fired up and ready to get back to it with a bang!

  2. great progress! you’re doing amazingly! also – i take a rest day every week & i can work out so much harder the rest of the week because of it! i was hesitant at first but it seriously makes such a difference!

  3. im SO PUMPEd! u have improved so much!!!!

  4. I hope you feel better soon!!

  5. you got some major strength. Awesome! hope you are back to full health soon!

  6. You are doing amazing! And here I am struggling to just run everyday 😛

  7. I love seeing myself getting stronger! It’s so fulfilling to know that I can now do x repetitions of something. It just feels good. Hope you feel better soon!

  8. Girl, you are beast. I am not even that strong yet. Nice job though.

  9. Just out of curiosity, do you just make up your workouts or do you find them online?

  10. Your strength training is progressing so nicely. I love how you keep track. When I started to do that I actaully noticed that I am improving (well except this week-since I had Bronchitis). I hope you feel better soon, I know how much it sucks to be sick

  11. Congrats on increasing that’s the best feeling.

  12. Woah girl you life HEAVY! You would kill me in the weight room! So happy for you loving weight lifting! It is soo good to take a few days off too! It feels good 🙂 Tomorrow you totally WILL rock that workout 🙂

  13. I’m so bad about taking days off! I either don’t take one for WEEKS or I take like, 3 days off in a row. So not good! I need to work on my spacing!

  14. Wow, those are some intense workouts! You are going to have some serious muscles;) Hope you feel better asap! Never fret about missing a workout because of illness, it’s always good to let your body rest.

  15. You’re so right! The more you work at it, the stronger you will get! Just like the old “practice makes perfect” adage. 🙂 Way to get some intense work outs in, girl! 🙂

  16. Awesome!! I love to strength train. I’ve been pushing myself a lot harder lately, and eventually I know I’ll see some results (abs abs abs!). I’ll never give up!

  17. oh my goodness gracious! That mango looks absolutely delicious. My favorite food in the world (besides peanut butter)

  18. I need Mango in my life! Would be so good on some oats too!! So proud of you with the hardcore strength workouts! U go girl!!

  19. thank you for the workout ideas! i was justing thinking today that i am in need of a routine changer…..and here you are with some suggestions 🙂

  20. You are strong girl! I definitely agree with you that strength training is so important. I used to be an only cardio girl, but I love the way strength training makes me feel.

  21. Jess your progress is AMAZING!!!! Wow! You are so strong and fierce. Work it girl!

    And rest days…they are necessary, so right. But I know how it is…once you get inspired you just want to keep going, going, going to get stronger..but yes, you do have to rest every now and then 🙂

  22. Awesome job! Hope you feel better soon! Xo.

  23. great job on the ST

  24. hi there jess! thank you so much for stopping by, i love your bloggg!
    that’s one bad ass workout girl! you must be like the workout QUEEN XD

    mmm i love sweet potatoes ♥

  25. hey girl! thats so awesome how youve been improving in strength and stamina. totally inspiring and encouraging! building up strength makes me feel more capable and independent!

    and yes, rest days are sooo important. i always have better workouts after i take rest days (yes for me it’s multiple haha)

  26. Your progress is incredible I need to get stronger… I hope you feel better 🙂

  27. that’s amazing! I so am unmotivated to tear myself away from cardio but I secretly envy muscles!

  28. “NO ONE should be afraid to strength train just because they aren’t “strong enough” – love this jess !
    my forehead finally touched the floor while doing spilts this week in yoga,
    it’s taken weeks and hurt like heck but i see what you mean about the satisfaction :3
    hope you’re feeling better now , make yummy spaghetti squash ~

  29. awww lovely eats!!

    and yes, I love strength training over cardio, any day!!

    I just like taking my time and switching it up!

    great post pretty mama, and HAPPY WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKEND!

  30. Awesome job on the increases!!! Woohoo your doing great!!! That isn’t one workout is it??? Ha!

    • And in response to your response (haha) I was gonna say holy cow you must have been there all day! LOL

  31. […] 7. Most PROUD: Getting Stronger IS Possible […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

